When To Kill Those Old Blog Post Ideas – The SiteSell Blog

After you have collected blog post ideas for a while, you will realize some of them are not that hot. What should you do with them?

Sourced through Scoop.it from: www.sitesell.com

 
Do you keep old, bad, blog ideas around?

A couple of years ago, I had an idea for a blog post. I wanted to point out all of the things that bloggers sometimes do wrong with their blogs, a kind of What Not To Do post, but I thought I could frame it like a Dear John letter.

Dear Mr. Blogger. I’m breaking up with you and your blog today because…

And then go on and list the reasons. Sounds neat, right?

It sucked.

I just could not, for the life of me, make that thing work. It probably boils down to the fact that in a Dear John letter, you’re not going to go into depth on the criticisms and offer suggestions, you’d just list what’s wrong and move on.

But here’s the thing. Since I use Evernote and wrote the post as a note within my Blog notebook, I saw it. Daily. Over and over. 

I kept revisiting that post in my mind, months after I’d already decided it was rubbish.

So the question is, have you ever had an idea or even partial post like that? And if so, what did you do? Did you keep trying to make it work, or did you trash it?

What I did: http://www.sitesell.com/blog/2015/10/when-to-kill-those-old-blog-post-ideas.html 

And note that wasn’t my only failed blog idea!

Have a great weekend! And here’s to all the ideas that never make it to the published state. 🙂

#Blogging   #ContentMarketing   #Writing  

See on Scoop.itThe Content Marketing Hat

Leave a Reply

